Too Big for Words

Standard

Exciting, Awesome, Ballsy, Adventurous, Scary, Interesting, Brave.

All of those words have been said to me over the past several weeks by people who hear I am moving to Nicaragua.

But how can I really put into words what I am feeling when something so big, so life-changing, is about to happen to me?

Usually I smile and laugh a little, telling everyone how excited I am and what an adventure it will be. Which is true. But I will be the first to admit that I don’t think it has really truly sunk in what I am about to do. Sure, many things will be the same — I will be working at a desk (doing something I am so excited for!) talking to friends and family on gmail, facebook, etc. I will still cook, and take Finn out to play and will continue to plan my wedding. But on the flip side, SO many things will be different – I think too many things for me to really wrap my head around.

And different can be good and bad. Example – I will be living in a very simple, no frills home without TV, internet and AC, with power that could go out for hours at a time. Oh and did I mention the large bugs that always find their way into homes down there? Right away most people’s eyes bug out and then they quickly recover, not wanting to say what they really think. Yes, it will probably suck at times (I mean lets be be honest, 90 degrees with no AC?!?) but I know that those luxuries that will be lacking will be replaced with things I could never find here. Early morning walks to work, watching the sun rise from the beach; wearing shorts and tank tops to work, cold beers with new friends after a day of fishing and learning to surf, navigating Nicaragua’s colorful public transit system in order to get groceries – and many more.

Regardless of the good and bad that comes with this move – I know that it will make me a stronger, wiser, happier and more tolerant person. But like I said, what I am feeling is too big for words. You’ll just have to take my word for it now and keep coming back to hear more :)

2 responses

  1. It’s going to be AMAZING! You’re following your dream and that alone will help settle the nerves and frustrations of the day to day. xx