Manic Monday

Standard

I KNOW I promised pictures of my trip to Nicaragua, and honestly I want to get them up here for me as much as I want you all to see them. I guess I get a FAIL on the picture posting front 😦 . The weekend got a little busy and I just didn’t have enough time. They will be up sometime soon though, no worries!

I want to do a quick recap of my weekend. I had mentioned in my last post that I waitress a couple nights a week. Well I am not sure how many of you have heard of the place I work at, but it is called The Melting Pot. I have worked there, a few nights a week, for the past 2.5 years. It is a fondue restaurant and is a really fun place to go for a date night or girls night. Anyways, when I work, the only option meal wise is salad because everything else is done table side (aka you cook your own food at the table). So I threw together an awesome salad of spinach/mixed greens with tomato, cucumber, carrots, mushrooms, blue cheese, scallions and a drizzle of Orange Sesame Ginger dressing. It was a really great salad!

Saturday morning I had plans to tackle the 7 miles on my training plan. I got in a pre run snack of a nanner with Peanut Butter:Annnnd then, I did it! I ran 7 miles in 1:10:28. I went down to Kelly Drive which is one long road/path that runs along the river from the Manayunk/East Falls area up to the Art Museum. The run was so beautiful and although I felt like I ran pretty slow, I wasn’t too concerned with speed since I wanted to make sure I could run the distance. I am trying to use my shorter runs to decrease time.  I just want to add that a year ago I couldn’t even run a mile, so to run 7, even at a 10min/mile pace is just amazing! I can’t wait for Broad Street so I can come out the other end saying “I did it!”

I spent the rest of the day running errands and grocery shopping. I have something I want to admit; when I grocery shop, I usually go to 2-3 places in order to get what I need (Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, Conventional Store). Does anyone else do that, or am I just crazy??

Saturday night B and I went to a St. Patty’s party at his brother’s house. It was fun, even though I didn’t know too many people. His sister made this green cocktail which was pretty much Vodka infused with pineapple. It was tasty, but I could only have a small glass. I did enjoy a few Smithwick’s though along with some amazing Macaroni and cheese and plenty of chips with salsa! It was a fun night but I was beat and passed out in bed as soon as we got home.

Sunday was a snacky day-I met my momma for lunch at Cosi’s and got the hummus and veggie sandwich. They serve their sandwiches on multigrain bread – if you have ever been to a Cosi’s you know that their “bread” is an awesome warm, crusty rectangle that they stuff with what you order. SO. GOOD. After lunch with momma I headed over to B’s to hang out with him and the neighbors. We grilled (tilapia for me) and had drinks and enjoyed the weather!

I had some TJ’s pretzel thins and 1/2 a Miller Light while we waited. I might have also munched on some veggie chips as well. We finished up with some Rita’s water ice! Because it was the first weekend of spring, the lines were sooo long. But it was worth it to bring home water ice to share with everyone. I chose mango, cherry and Swedish Fish flavored water ice. The Swedish Fish was actually my favorite!!

Ok I have to run for now, look for me later-I’m going to try and squeeze in a post before I head to the MP (that’s Melting Pot! 🙂 ). Have a good afternoon!

ta-ta

2 responses

  1. Yummmm I have been craving the Melting Pot! I also love Cosi. Their balsamic salad dressing is SO good. Looks like a lovely weekend!

    • I forgot about their dressing but I used to get it on their TBM. I don’t live near one now so it was a treat to get to one!