FRIDAY

Standard

Yup, I’m serious-I couldn’t think of anything better as a title other than Friday. I think it’s good enough! Except for the fact that I am going to be talking about Thursday in this post 🙂 . Oh well.

Yesterday morning I tried out a new breakfast item. I had seen Ryan talk about how much she enjoyed millet bread with some cinnamon on top so I decided to try it. I added a few drops of agave nectar as well and it made for an awesome breakfast! I paired the millet toast with a spinach/fruit smoothie. YUM.

For lunch I was in a bit of a rush. Because I work only a mile from my house, I come home for lunch at least four times a week. Well today I didn’t have a whole lot of time to eat so I literally threw this together in about 5 min – behold the “Mexi Casserole”. Guess I am on a casserole kick since I had one Wednesday for dinner too!

This ended up being a delicious and filling lunch! Into this bowl went:

  • ~1/2 cup of brown rice
  • 1/4 cup of FF Refried Beans
  • 1/4 salsa
  • 1/4 Chobani Plain
  • a handful of broccili slaw (for crunch!)
  • additional salsa to garnish

Like I said-A.mazing. I guess it is kind of like a naked burrito you would find at a Chipotle or Moe’s. Try it out for yourself and let me know how you like it!

The rest of the afternoon kind of went by slowly-like a snail…I did get to snack on this though!

Apple and almonds (TJ’s Honey Sesame to be exact) seem to be a great snack combo for this gal. I wasn’t super hungry in the afternoon, but I had a run planned with my sister so I wanted to make sure I had something inside of me for fuel.

And speaking of a run-my sister and I ran 3 miles. I made it through in 0:29:37. I feel like I run faster on a treadmill than outside and because of that, felt like I was pushing myself on this run.

Does anyone else feel that way??

For me, being able to see exactly what the pace is that I am running on the treadmill makes me go faster. I am really not sure why, and would like to change that immediately so I can run the same pace inside and outside all the time. We shall see 🙂

After our run I made dinner for my sister and I. Dinner consisted of salads and 1/2 sammy thin with nut butter. The carbs/protein were devoured pretty quickly but I did manage to snap a few pics of the salad:

It was a great salad! My sister is in Med School right now and is always studying or in class so I think she appreciated having a simple dinner put together for her. I hope she comes back soon so I can try something else out for her!!

*******

This might be a long post!

So this morning I OVERSLEPT!!! I kind of  go into panic mode when this happens, which isn’t often. For some reason my alarm on my phone did not go off but I did wake up naturally around 7:15…I am usually up between 6:30 and 6:45 so this kind of left me, um, no time to do anything! I had grand plans of making oats and sitting down to write this post but that got thrown out the window and replaced with a super fast shower and a sammy thin with jam and Sunflower Butter. Oh well, such is life sometimes. Good thing the weekend is here and I will have some time to get things done!

I hope everyone has a good Friday-see you back here soon!

ta-ta!

2 responses

  1. That Mexican casserole looks so good! It’s always nice to have dinner with a sis, I’m having din with mine on Saturday. Have a great weekend!