Persian Grill

Standard

I can’t wait to tell you all about my new dining experience last night. First though, some daytime eats. Below you will see my empty smoothie cup. There WAS something in there but it was so good I finished it before I got to work!! I created a Strawberry “Milkshake” and if anyone out there is in love with smoothies as much as I am, you HAVE to try this:

Stephie’s Strawberry “Milkshake”

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 container of Strawberry Chobani
  • 1 cup of frozen strawberries
  • Ice and water, as needed

I loved milkshakes growing up (and still do!) so this is a really good way to recreate a fav with some healthy proteins and nutrients in it. Try it out and let me know what you think!

Mid morning I snacked on some TJ’s Dark Chocolate Covered Cranberries that were in my Easter Basket from B’s Mom. For lunch I made an awesome wrap (sorry no pic!) using a WW Whole Food’s wrap with WF’s hummus, broccoli slaw, a sunshine burger and hot sauce. YUM.

Before dinner I got out and did three miles. For some reason I had this surge of energy in the beginning and ended up running an 8:53 mile-crazy! I used the last two miles to practice sprints. I would alternate jogging/walking for 45 seconds or so and sprinting for 30 seconds.  I ended up finishing all three miles in about 30 minutes so it was a decent workout. I was sweaty and tired and realized I really need to work on speed work and strength training so I can conquer my miles without fatiguing so easily.

**Dinner time!!

Last night I had the opportunity to dine at the Persian Grille in Lafayette Hill with some of my co-workers from the Melting Pot. This was new cuisine for me and I was really excited to try it out .

We started with the hummus which was chick peas, tahini sauce, fresh garlic, salt, pepper and fresh lemon juice. It was served with a side of warm pita bread. The hummus was cool, creamy and had a good tanginess to it. One of my co-workers is actually Persian and he explained that in Persian cooking they make pita/hummus a bit differently than what this restaurant serves. He said their pita bread is cooked over hot stones-kinda cool!

Before I left for dinner I checked out the menu online to see what veggie options they had. Although I still eat seafood occasionally I try to stick to a no-meat diet as often as possible. I was really happy to see that they had an entire Vegetarian section! I ended up choosing the Mirza Polo – their specially seasoned oven- roasted eggplant sauteed with onions, garlic and tomato, topped with eggs and served with fluffy basmati rice.


The dish was served with egg on top. The yellow coloring on the rice is spices. There was a side of grilled vegetables as well. This dish was FANTASTIC. The eggplant was blended together with the other ingredients so it was a “mush” of things that you ate with the rice. There was definitely a lot of garlic flavor but it was not spicy like you might have in Indian/Thai food. I ate about half of my plate and saved the rest for lunch today. It was so tasty and I definitely see myself going back there to try something else off of their Vegetarian Menu.

To round out dinner my co-workers and I shared the Akbar Mashtee – ice cream made with saffron, rose water and a dash of pistachio nuts. I had several bites; if you are familiar with rose water, a scent most of us find in bath products or perfumes….imagine that in an ice cream. Definitely not my favorite but I am glad I tried it!

Overall dinner was a success. It was nice to hang out and chat with work friends outside of work. I am definitely looking forward to our next dinner out!

Being that today is Thursday, I have a run scheduled with the sissy on Kelly Drive. I am excited to run after work on Kelly Drive because all of my runs there have been mid morning. I am going to try and bring along my camera to snap some shots. See you all later!

ta-ta

2 responses

  1. Have a good run this afternoon! Kelly Drive is looking so pretty these days! P.S. I totally want to do the Philly half!