ItaliYUM

Standard

Hey hey!

How was everyone’s Thursday evening? I hope you all got to enjoy the amazing weather-it was in the low 70’s and AHmazing out in Philly! Dinner was a total success at La Viola – I left 100% satisfied and did not feel overly full; just perfectly content.

When we arrived I started off with a piece of bread; it was warm, crusty and when dipped in the olive oil, was the perfect combo to start off the evening.

For my meal I had the Insalata di Arugula which came with tomatoes, artichokes, goat cheese and a lemon vinaigrette. It was a good salad; the arugula was spicy, the dressing was tangy and there was just enough goat cheese on top to get the creamy taste.

I also enjoyed some of the grilled calamari that was ordered for the table. One of my favorite salads is from a place in West Chester called Teca; it has grilled calamari on it so I was eager to try out this restaurant’s grilled calamari as well. It did not disappoint as you will see below:

*Although I do not eat meat, I am still eating seafood. I am making a gradual transition into vegetarianism and decided that I was not ready to give up my love of sushi and fresh seafood!

For my main course I went with one of the chef’s specials. The menu looked tasty and they had plenty of veggie options but usually when the chef of a restaurant takes the time to create specials, they are gonna be good. I chose the homemade fettuccine pasta with peas, baby clams and shrimp  finished with a light marinara sauce.

This dish was fantastic! The marinara sauce was fresh tasting and and a little zing of spice in each bite. The clams were piping hot and salty. My favorite part by far was the pasta itself. I am a whole wheat noodle kinda gal but when I say this pasta was heaven, I mean it.

It was heavy on the fork yet light and fluffy once you took a bite. The chef cooked it perfectly and probably took a lot of care into making it. I really appreciate a good meal and La Viola came through!

The night would not have been complete without some dessert! The table shared some of the restaurant’s fresh homemade Tiramisu! I had a few bites; not a favorite dessert of mine but it was delicious. Clearly you will be able to tell this from my picture-it was devoured in minutes!

Throughout the night I sipped on 2 glasses of red wine-I brought my red from March’s wine of the month delivery. It was a Zinfandel and went well with the meal.

Overall I would give La Viola a BIG thumbs up! The prices were low for the quality of food and atmosphere of the restaurant. The wait staff was very attentive. The only negative thing I would say is that it was a bit small and cramped. It was worth it though 😉 .

B and I ended the night with a few other by grabbing a drink (or two) at the Public House. All in all the night was a blast and just what I needed to kick off the weekend. I’ll see you all later today for Kombucha Friday!

ta-ta!

10 responses

  1. You officially just made me want Italian food for dinner, and now my stomach is growling. Sigh, is 10:25 too early for lunch?

    • Midmorning snack perhaps?! I think the extra beers I had AFTER dinner are causing me to NOT want food right now 🙂

  2. Hi, my name is Katie & I was just drooling over your blog. Legit, embarrassing!

    That food looked delicious!

    • haha I do that all the time looking at other blogs too! It’s kinda like the “don’t go to the grocery store hungry” rule.

  3. I’m so glad you liked it! Isn’t the calamari delish?
    And I’ve never had a dessert there! Must try next time 🙂

  4. La Viola was one of the first BYOBs I tried when I moved to the city. I’ve never had a bad meal there! Also — I LOVE that dress. Did you get it recently?