Garces Trading Company

Standard

Last night I had the opportunity to do many things I love:

Try a new restaurant:

Eat delicious food:

And meet some of my blogger friends!

This was my first blogger meet up, or as it was called, “Philly Foodie Meet-Up”, and it was a huge success!

The meet up was in Philly at Chef Jose Garces’ newest restaurant Garces Trading Company. This was my first time at one of his restaurants, although I have have been dying to try Amada for some time now. You could say I have a small foodie crush on him especially since he is the newest Iron Chef!! 🙂

OK enough swooning about Garces 🙂 .

Dinner was fabulous from start to finish. Garces Trading Company is quaint and airy; someplace you could breeze through any time of day for a pastry, sammy or cup of coffee. Our group obviously came for the full experience and that is what we got!

The service was great. Being a server myself I sympathize with those who have to wait on large parties (ours was 17!), especially a group of foodies with big cameras and lots to talk about. The servers were very knowledgeable and took great care of us.

For my meal I split several different things with my friend April. We started with the Baby Artichokes that were accompanied by lemon, honey dates and walnuts.

These were so good! I love lemon and the sweetness of the honey went so nicely with it on top of the artichokes. For a starter I also had some of the Insalata Semplice. It was a citrus based salad with grapefruit, red onion and almonds. Any salad that has a sweet and savory component in it has my heart!

The star of my meal though was the Funghi pizza:

There were a handful of different mushrooms on top but it was the truffles that put me over the edge. THEY WERE SO GOOD! I am in love with truffles/truffle oil and had it not been $31 I would have bought Garces’ bottled truffle oil on the spot!

I could probably talk about how good the pizza was for hours but I won’t do that to you all. You’ll just have to get on over to Garces Trading Company and try it yourself!

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to stay for dessert; I had a train to catch and didn’t want to miss it! I am jealous though because the pictures of dessert that the others ordered looked awesome. I also heard their coffee was great too. Guess I’ll be back there sometime soon!

All in all it was a great experience. It was so refreshing to meet a group of girls in the Philly area who love food and healthy living like me! There wasn’t any pressure and everyone was so friendly and welcoming. I really can’t wait until we plan our next Philly Foodie Meetup!

I need to give a huge THANK YOU to Sabrina and Leslie for putting together such a fun event. I have become Blog and Twitter friends with these girls and it was so nice to finally meet them. I hope I can put my love of planning to use and plan the next get together with them 🙂 !

Before I go, I have to mention that Lauren from Eat, Drink and Be Hopeful is having an AMAZING giveaway over on her blog. It really is awesome, so go check it out!

That is all I have for now! Pray for no rain so this gal gets in a good run tonight. Broad Street is 11 days away! eek!

ta-ta!

5 responses

  1. I love reading all the recaps from last night! It really was such a nice meet-up…I hope we can all plan something again soon. Philly has so many great restaurants to try!