My Personal Tipping Point

Standard

Just like I had hoped for, my dinner last night was veggie filled. Got to B’s a bit late (had to drop his car off to be worked on) so we threw together a meal of mushrooms, zuccini, tomato and rice. B is really good with adding spices to make things taste good. He usually goes for garlic, tumeric, cayenne, salt, pepper, oregeno, etc.

While the meal was cooking I had some of the leftover salsa from my sister’s party on Sunday. When I say salsa I don’t mean the red stuff; I’m referring to my Mom’s awesome salsa with corn, beans, onion, tomato, avocado, oil, vinegar and italian seasonings. It looks a little something like THIS:

Of course it is best enjoyed with tortilla chips (hello TJ’s Baked Blue Corn Tortilla Chips!!) but this stuff is so good that I usually enjoy it by itself or on top of a salad too! Definitely a nice alternative to regular ole’ salsa.

Back to dinner-it turned out well! The zuccini was cook perfectly and the tomatoes were not mushy – job well done in my book!

I wanted to touch on something that has been on my mind for awhile now. I am sure many, if not all of you know Caitlin’s blog Healthy Tipping Point; and if you haven’t read it yet, hop on over immediately! Anyways, when I first saw her blog title a lightbulb went off in my head because I had read a book in college called  The Tipping Point: “How Little Things Can Make A Big Difference” by Malcolm Gladwell. It was actually the first book I was required to read as a Communications major. I can’t tell you what the entire book was about but the message that is coursing through the book is obvious – when the  many small things in life build up to the point that change is inevitable. I love Caitlin’s thought behind her blog and what it stands for – it is such a fabulous concept; one that has me thinking of where I stand in my own personal Healthy Living Tipping Point.

Since college I have made many changes in my lifestyle that have put me on the road to being my healthiest self.  I eat a lot of fruits and veggies, whole grains, seafood and up until this year, lean protein like chicken and turkey. I have also incorporated fitness into my life more whether it is running, biking, going for walks or trying out a new fitness DVD. I can see and feel the positive changes that my body (and mind!) have gone through and for that, I am thankful.

Even with such positive changes, I still feel like I have not reached my “healthiest self”. Let me paint a picture. I feel like I am standing in the middle of a giant see saw. On one side is a lifestyle filled with processed foods, too much dairy, little exercise, an upset tummy and low self-esteem. On the other side is a lifestyle filled with awesome, healthy whole foods, lots of energy, regular fitness and an overall feeling of contentment. I am standing in the middle of this contraption trying to inch my way towards the healthy lifestyle but it seems that the unhealthy lifestlyle is still weighing down, causing my journey towards healthy to be slower than I had hoped.

Now if THAT isn’t a grand metaphor for ya, I don’t know what is 🙂

What I am trying to say is that I KNOW I have the knowledge and tools at hand to be my healthiest self, so why do I feel the need to fall into old habits of unhealthy eating and little exercise? Now I want to be clear in my intentions here; I am not looking to live a life eating spinach and apples. I have a serious sweet tooth and like they say “Everything in Moderation”, but I have found myself leaning on the side of over indulgence a little too much recently. I’m talking big family dinners on Sundays, snacking before dinner and while preparing it, and not making the healthiest choices.

This is not a pity party friends, I want this to be my jumping off point , or shall I say, my very own Tipping Point. That little “kick in butt” that I need in order to gain that momentum so that the change to a fully healthy lifestyle is 100% INEVITABLE. So please, feel free to leave any tips, advice, thoughts etc. below on how I can make this change happen. You all have already had such an impact on my life and how I view eating and exercising so THANK YOU!

I hope you all have a great Tuesday. I have to finish up this Cherry Chocolate Bomb (obsessed with them, can you tell?) and get back to work! Check back tomorrow for a fun dinner review!

13 responses

  1. I totally hear ya, I feel like the weekends are when I inevitably tip towards the unhealthy eating, but during the week I stay on course. I usually blame the bf, but it would be possible to make healthy choices while still out with him. Here’s to the kick in the butt we both need!

    • Agreed! Those pesky BF’s…and you’re right the weekends (moreso nighttimes!) are my downfalls..gotta work on that stat!

  2. I am right there withya! I know the steps I need to take to be happy & they’re not THAT big…but why do I let a lunch at Chipotle reign over a healthy salad? Sometimes its mental….maybe meditating? I’ve thought about that. I honestly don’t have any serious sound advice for you because I struggle with this every single day. I’m interested to see what everyone else writes!

    • I like the idea of meditating! Getting into yoga was one of my goals for 2010 so maybe that could help too?!

  3. Really great post! So well written. I feel like your 20s are when you’re still trying to figure everything out and commit in the face of most of your friends who eat terribly! You’re on a really great road! Keep determined and it will come naturally in due time!

    • Thanks Lisa!
      I agree, it is tough so now is the time to work hard to form habits for the rest of our lives. And like I said, if you ever want to do Kelly Drive, I’m your gal!

  4. I totally relate to this.. and I also have been stuck in the middle of that see saw lately :/ Especially this last week.. ughhh. (As I write this, I contemplate where I can find chocolate.) I’m convinced next week will be better, but I find when I’m busy and overworked, it’s too easy to make excuses..

    ps. Your meals look amazing and I’m ALWAYS looking for new ideas – so this is fantastic:)

  5. hey! i just got a chance to read this. I am so happy you are on your way to your HTP! it’s truly a journey, not a destination. i wish you the best on your journey! and thank you for the sweet words 🙂

  6. I feel this way ALLLL the time. You said it a lot better than I have in my previous posts, but I couldn’t agree more with the see saw metaphor. That salsa looks incredible! I love making guacamole, but I’ve never tried making my own salsa for some reason.

    • You really should try making salsa! It is so easy – just throw all the ingredients in the food processor and that’s it!

      I’m glad many of you feel the same way I do, it’s nice to know we’re all fighting our own battles but can help each other along the way.

  7. Gosh you sound like me! I too am on that see-saw and more often than not lately I find myself on that processed end. I am also a fan of all in moderation and try really hard to do it every day. I find that the time between Thanksgiving and right before my CSA starts that I hit this wall that makes me want all things bad for me. It’s like I am jonseing for the day that tomatoes are ripe and and can be devoured with reckless abandon. I have just started asking myself the question, “How much of that will do my body AND mind good?” about food. Sometimes that thing that seems not so healthy wins b/c I might really want that dessert or fries. Most of the time though, I come up with an alternative plan. Like you said, it’s little things. Stopping and asking yourself is a little think but it can mean BIG things later. 🙂

    • Great thoughts, thanks for commenting. And I agree with you-I do find myself falling into a “slump” in the winter months. I hope now that it is spring and so many awesome food options are popping up (hello gardens!) I will fall over to the healthy side of that see-saw. 🙂