Salad Success!

Standard

Happy Friday! So glad to be saying that. I thought I would share with you a funny cartoon that B’s mom sent to me. I think it describes things well:

Snoopy's Typical Work Week

Hehe cute right?! So last night I went to my old roomie Lauren’s NEW place for dinner. She lives with her fiance (newly engaged!) and we got together with my current roommate for dinner and drinks. I was in charge of bringing a salad and knew I wanted to do something summery since shore season is almost here! My #1 top salad is my mom’s strawberry spinach salad with poppyseed dressing. It is AMAZING. So I decided to put my own twist on it and came up with a salad like this!

Into the salad went:

  • mixed greens
  • fresh strawberries
  • slivered almonds
  • broccoli slaw
  • Lemon Vinaigrette

The dressing I adapted from a recipe I found on Tasty Kitchen . It was super easy to make and turned out Ah-mazing! And I must say, if you haven’t been over to Tasty Kitchen, head over immediately there are SO MANY awesome looking recipes!

Along with my salad (which everyone enjoyed!) Lauren made baked ziti (that may rival my own mother’s!) bruchetta and crusty bread. It was a fantastic meal and it was so good to catch up and hang out with my friends.

Hi Roomie!

Our wonderful hosts – Brett, Lauren and Charlie!

Me and Charlie!

In other friend related news, former roomie Lauren asked me to be in her wedding! I of course said yes! Here is the best part – her wedding is planned for THIS fall! So exciting – lots of planning and parties for the next 6 months!! This will be just my 2nd time as a bridesmaid (I was MOH in my best friend from HS’s wedding last June) and I can’t wait. Congrats again Lauren and Brett, I can’t wait to celebrate with you!

See you all later for Kombucha Friday!

4 responses

  1. Love the cartoon! I for some reason get freaked out by salads with fruit in them, don’t know why. I can’t wait till my friends start getting married and I can be in a wedding, I’ve never been in one!