Yoga Pose May – Downward-Facing Dog

Standard

Gooood Morning!

So Tina (of Carrots ‘n Cake) and Kate (of What Kate Ate) have put together “Yoga Pose May”. Basically bloggers all over blog-land are featuring different yoga poses throughout the month. I was lucky enough to be assigned a pose within the “Basic” category – Downward Facing Dog. Before I go into why this pose is so awesome, I wanted to highlight how EASY it is to incorporate a little yoga into your life!

As you can see — Yoga is a versatile activity 🙂

One of the things I love about yoga is that there are so many benefits-for your body and mind. In particular, this pose has many health benefits, such as (source):

  • Calms the brain and helps relieve stress and mild depression
  • Energizes the body
  • Stretches the shoulders, hamstrings, calves, arches, and hands
  • Strengthens the arms and legs
  • Helps relieve the symptoms of menopause
  • Relieves menstrual discomfort when done with head supported
  • Helps prevent osteoporosis
  • Improves digestion
  • Relieves headache, insomnia, back pain, and fatigue
  • Therapeutic for high blood pressure, asthma, flat feet, sciatica, sinusitis

You can take it for what it is, but I think that if practiced correctly, yoga can be beneficial to any person – newbie or expert. In fact, one of my goals for 2010 was to “get into” yoga – aka make it a regular part of my routine. Even a simple 5 minute series of yoga poses and stretches can make you feel better. So just know that throughout the coming weeks and months, I am going to try and incorporate yoga into my life. I’ll let you know how things go.

10 responses

  1. you’re so right with this one… i cant tell you the number of times my fiance has found me using our hallway carpet runner as a yoga mat 😛

  2. I came here from carrotsncake. Nice job! Just a quick note: you want your feet hip-width apart and your arms shoulder-width apart in down dog. Modifying the form should help you get the upper half of your body more fully into the pose.

    Within my first few weeks in an actual yoga class (I had done yoga exclusively at home with downloads), my teacher helped me to realize that I had the wrong form. Once I got it right, I was able to go really deeply into the pose. I have “open shoulders” now. The best benefit is that down dog actually helps relieve the pain and tension I get in my neck as a result of stress.

    • Thanks for the tip! I am still a yoga newbie so you can bet I will be trying your tip next time I do yoga. Thanks again!

  3. Pingback: Yoga Pose May Recap « What Kate Ate