Kanella

Standard

Last night was rainy and cold in Philadelphia but that didn’t stop me from getting to Kanella in Philadelphia for dinner with Lisa.

Neither Lisa or I had been before and I was really excited when Lisa suggested we try it out! Kanella is Greek cuisine. I have had greek salads and dips and what-not but this was going to be a true Greek meal and I was very excited about it. The restaurant itself was very quaint with a clean, rustic feel to it. I started off with a fresh brewed mint iced tea. I am loving unsweetened iced tea these days-it reminds me so much of summer!

After some catching up, Lisa and I perused the menu

We settled on several appetizers to share; the dips of the day, the stuffed grape leaves and the grilled calamari. I have to say that this is one of my favorite ways to try out (and enjoy!) and new restaurant. Just like at Stella Blue, having a variety of appetizers or small plates is great for patrons who want to try a little of everything as opposed to choosing one main dish to enjoy.

We started off with some crusty bread and homemade tahini. The tahini was good! Had a nice salty flavor and wasn’t as bland as other tahini’s I’ve had.

The dips of the day were good-very reminiscent of the dips I encountered at Zahav this fall. They were served with warm pita bread and although they were all very tasty, they weren’t stand-outs (maybe that’s why this shot is so blurry?!? 🙂 ).

The stuffed grape leaves though….YUM.

I really enjoyed these! They had a cabbage slaw and some sort of grain in them. There were pickled vegetables on top and a tangy lemon vinaigrette on the cabbage salad. I loved these. I actually would love to try making these at home sometime. I’ll have to add that to ever-growing list of things I want to do/try.

Lisa and I also shared the grilled calamari. I have a special place in my heart for grilled calamari; my all time favorite salad is  grilled calamari over arugula  from Teca in West Chester. Kanella’s calamari though was not quite as good. It was tender but they grilled charcoal taste was pretty overwhelming at times.

At this point in the evening the owner and chef came up to us. I thought he was going to ask us how our meal was but it turns out they do not allow photographs to be taken in the restaurant anymore! Hence, no picture of the calamari.

Overall I did enjoy Kanella. I would like to go back and try it again and have an entree. They had many seafood and vegetarian options that sounded so good!

After our dinner Lisa and I went in search of frozen yogurt. We were able to score an AWESOME front row spot outside of Yogorino. Unlike the other fro-yo places I have been to that are self serve and have many flavors, Yogorino had just the tart vanilla flavor and provided lots of toppings to choose from. I went with my favorite-kiwi!

It was good! The yogurt had a richer, creamier taste to it and I would definitely go back to try other combinations!

It was a great night with my new blog friend (or is it “blend” in blog world?) and am looking forward to trying out new place in Philadelphia soon!

ta-ta!

2 responses

  1. I LOVE Greek food. We went to Greece 6 years ago and I loved it so much. It’s hard to watch what is going on in the streets there. Anyway, the food was AMAZING. It has been hard to find authentic Greek food here. I’ll have to try this place. So far I think our fave Greek place is Estia.

  2. So jealous! I wish I had been able to make it and hang out with you guys. I was still Greek-inspired, so when I got home from work I convinced my husband to order us Greek Lady delivery 🙂 Not exactly the same but still delicious!