Flax Encrusted Sweet Potato

Standard

Hey There!

I hope everyone had a great weekend — I did, but more about that another time. I wanted to tell you all about the awesome lunch I made today. I have decided this week to really focus on eating cleaner/more simply. I have a wedding coming up and Memorial Day weekend and I want to look/feel my best! The past couple of weeks have been discouraging as I took them off from running. Today though, I am officially back in the game! I headed out for about an hour and ended up running 2 miles and walking/jogging the rest for a total of around 4.5 miles. It feels good to run again!

So in honor of my first day of better eating I had a big bowl of strawberries for breakfast with a spoonful of nut butter. It was a great pre-workout meal. For lunch I cut up a red pepper (my favorite color of pepper) and had a 100cal pack of guacamole on top. Now I would much rather make my own guac but I had this little guy sitting in my fridge and it had to be used by next week. It was tasty!

On the side I also had a small roasted sweet potato. I decided that I wanted to “jazz” my potato up and remembered I had the perfect ingredient!

I won this Golden Flaxseed with Blueberries a while back through a giveaway Lauren had on her blog. I’ve been enjoying flax for awhile now in things like smoothies, oats, cereal and baked goods but had never tried it on veggies. All I did was slice my sweet potato and drizzle some EVOO on it, then sprinkle the flax on and give it a good shake! I baked it in the oven at 425 for 20 min.

These guys were good They had a nutty flavor from the flax seed and every so often there was a hint of blueberry. This was definitely a success in my book and will be make again!

Have a good afternoon everyone!

ta-ta!

Question: What is your favorite way to use flax?

3 responses

  1. Hmmmm…I really like that idea although I’d probably try it w/o the blueberries. There are some foods I don’t mix. 😉

  2. Hooray for getting back out and running! I’ve never used flax seed so unfortunately I can’t help!

  3. That looks yummy! I only use flax in smoothies or baked goods. I made a Zucchini Flax Pecan bread from Cooking Light that was really good. I used the same type with blueberries but from Trader Joe’s. Good job getting back on the running!