Quinoa Stuffed Red Peppers

Standard

Good Morning! It was so nice to wake up this morning and it wasn’t raining! Fingers crossed for a nice weekend! Last night the rain also held off and I was able to get in a 20 minute bike ride and completed one circuit of my DIY Boot Camp. It was not terribly fatiguing but I am glad I got some fitness in! Now on to some eats.

Last night I experimented and created a dinner that will definitely be made again and again. It started last week when I was cutting up a red pepper for lunch. I cut it a bit differently than I usually do and it made me think of what I could stuff into the pepper. Well it just so happens that I had all the ingredients already at home! So without further delay, I give you

Quinoa Stuffed Red Peppers

I started by making a batch of quinoa. I mixed equal parts liquid and grain, using organic vegetable broth and some garlic and oregano to start. I then chopped two carrots and tossed them in the pot. Once that came to a boil, I added in the grain. Then I reduced the pot to a simmer and covered it for about 15 minutes or until the quinoa had soaked up all the liquid and had a slight iridescence to it.

Now this is where you can get creative. I did not have many other vegetables on hand but you can add things such as mushrooms, tomato, celery, squash, etc. I love sweet and savory so I tossed about 3/4 cup of raisins into the pot.

Mix everything and let sit for about 5 minutes while you prep your peppers.

Make sure to wash your peppers off before cutting. Take a sharp knife and slice right across the top,  removing the inside seeds and “edges”. Give it another rinse and pat dry. You are now ready to stuff!

Start spooning the quinoa mix into the pepper. I also added some goat cheese (my favorite!) but B used feta and said it was good as well. We sprinkled it throughout as we stuffed the peppers. Fill to the top and place in a baking dish with sides (so it does not topple over).

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, letting the pepper become warm; its skin will start to wrinkle. At this point you should be ready to enjoy! I sautéed some spinach on the side and finished it with a dollop of plain Chobani.

Everything was fantastic. The pepper was warm but still had a slight crunch to it which is exactly what I wanted. The goat cheese was like a tangy surprise throughout the pepper. If you have never made stuffed peppers you should definitely try this recipe. It was an easy and delicious vegetarian meal!

ta- ta!

6 responses

  1. This looks so good! I ordered something like this at the Salt Creek Grille awhile ago, and yours looks better!

  2. Stephanie this looks amazing! I need to try to make this. I’ve made quinoa before, but I’ve never tried a stuffed pepper. You make it sound so easy!