Mushroom Risotto

Standard

Like I mentioned in my post earlier this week, on weekdays I usually cook for one, but do need to make dinner for two a couple times a week when B comes over. I had a cruddy day yesterday and the idea of coming home and cooking in the kitchen made me feel MUCH better.

I have been dying to make a risotto for awhile now, and finally decided to take the plunge last night. I was nervous about being able to make a creamy, delicious risotto like I have had in restaurants many times before. I googled a bunch of different recipes and finally decided to try RhodeyGirl’s .

Mushroom Risotto
Serves 10-12 as a side or 5-6 as an entree


Ingredients:
500 g (about 2 cups) arborio rice
1 medium onion, diced
3 cups crimini mushrooms, cleaned and sliced – I used shitake mushrooms
3 cups baby bello mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
3 tbs olive oil
1 tbs butter – I used Earth Balance
4 tbs parmigiano reggiano – I used a couple tbs of regular Parmesan
kosher salt & pepper to taste
1 quart low sodium chicken broth – I used vegetable broth
1/2 cup cognac – I used a dry white wine


The process what much easier than I thought. The key to making the risotto creamy is to keep stirring while all the broth is added. The result was a super creamy, rich dish with lots of meaty mushrooms. B absolutely loved it and said it kind of tasted like a mac and cheese dish, it was so creamy. I made us a salad and baked him some chicken. I set the table and we enjoyed some Syrah with our meal.

We both ate a decent amount and there is a TON of leftovers! I will definitely be eating this as leftovers for the next several days.

Even though this was a short week it seemed to drag on! Glad it is Friday. I have a weekend full of working and will be squeezing in a run and a trip to WC to celebrate my sister’s bday and my cousin’s graduation. Have a great weekend!

Ta-Ta!

::Sidenote- I am currently eating leftovers of this awesome recipe as I hit publish!::

2 responses

  1. The risotto looks delicious! Btw – we missed you yesterday! We’re definitely going to try to plan another Philly meet-up soon 🙂