Sunday Funday

Standard

Today was NOT spent drinking copious amounts of alcohol (although I had a few), but it WAS a fun-Sunday!

Yesterday was a terribly lazy day though. I have no pictures for you; it was that lazy. I spent the day watching TV, doing laundry and relaxing. B came over and we went to dinner at Bonefish. We’ve had a GC that we had been meaning to use. The dinner was very good (although in the rush to leave I forgot my camera!). I had a mango martini which was the perfect way to start the meal. We shared the calamari appetizer and I had a house salad and crab cake appetizer for my meal. Everything was good; my only complaint was that even though the crab cakes were all crab meat and no filler, they did have some sort of mayonnaise in them which I wasn’t a huge fan of 😦 .

Today was my sister Karleigh’s birthday AND a party for my cousin Kate’s graduation from High School. B and I headed to WC for lunch with my family before we all headed to the grad party. We decided on a new restaurant in town called Mas  Mexicali Cantina.

The restaurant had a fun, Mexican vibe to it with lots of fun decorations on the walls.

My favorite part though was the lights

Aren’t they great? I love fun light fixtures and this definitely fit the bill.

Since there was going to be a lot of delicious food at my cousin’s graduation party, we decided to split a bunch of appetizers. While we waited, we munched on some chips and salsa (aka my all time favorite snack). B ordered a Pineapple Express Margarita which I gladly helped him drink :).

The appetizers came pretty quickly and were your typical Mexican dishes; nachos (no chicken please!), guacamole, queso fundido and a chicken taquito somethingoranother :). I had a bunch of the nachos and guacamole. The guacamole with good but I love a lot of lime in mine when I make it at home. How do you all like your guacamole? My friend Meghan makes the most amazing crab guacamole with lots of garlic, crab and lime.

Mas has a rooftop bar that my sister says is a lot of fun! She is my go-to girl for when I want to know about good places to drink/eat in WC. She is still in college and gets out often. Happy Birthday seester!

After lunch we putzed around my parents for a bit then headed over to the grad party. Like I mentioned before, the food did not disappoint. There was meatballs, sausage, penne vodka, pasta with broccoli rabe, a HUGE fruit salad, fresh veggies, cheeses, etc. I had a big plate of fruit and a small helping of the pasta with broccoli rabe – I was still pretty full from lunch. I also sipped on a Victory beer and a small glass of wine. The highlight of the afternoon though was this guy:

Oh yes, that’s right. The ice cream man came to my cousin’s grad party! My aunt and uncle have had him come to all of their kid’s grad parties and this time was no exception. Everyone gets a ticket and can pick whatever they want. Even though I was not hungry at all, I SOMEHOW managed to have half of a strawberry fruit bar. It was good, but it was no self-serve fro-yo ;).

Congrats to cousin Kate on her graduation from High School! B and I said our good-byes and headed home. He and a few friends had plans to watch the Flyers game at his house and I had a date with a big mound of laundry. I am heading to NC on Thursday and need to get myself organized and packed! Have a great night – I’ll leave you with a picture of my sisters and I. Do you think we look alike?? Who do you think is the oldest/middle/youngest?

Ta-Ta!

7 responses

  1. Hi! I just had to comment and say you are too cute! You give off such warmth in your pictures! What camera do you use? I know this is a random comment, but often it’s the little random comments that can make the difference in our mindsets. I hope you have a wonderful day, work gets better for you, the food just keeps getting better and yummier and you become even happier than you are! I love you attitude!
    Barbara

    • Wow thank you so much for the sweet comment, that really put a smile on my face. I have a Cannon Rebel DSLR and really love it. I still havent figured out all of the manual settings, but am excited to do so soon!