99 Days To Go!

Standard

I tweeted earlier this morning that I had officially registered for an exciting event and there are only 99 days to go! I am sure some of you are wondering WHAT I registered for since I have been talking about signing up for a 1/2 marathon for about a month now.

Well I didn’t sign up for a 1/2 marathon. I didn’t sign up for any kind of run actually. I am still planning on signing up for the Philly 1/2 in November, just not yet.

What I did sign up for though is going to benefit a great cause!

Bike MS City to Shore 30th Anniversary Banner

The MS City to Shore! This event is a 75 mile bike ride that will take me from South Jersey all the way to the Jersey Shore. The event is September 25th – 99 days away!

This was definitely something I decided to do very recently, but could not be more excited for!! My good friend Meghan and I joined a team so there will be a lot of support and fun along the way. I knew I wanted some sort of goal to work towards this summer but just didn’t feel like running was the best idea for me. I still plan to incorporate some running over the summer so I am prepared to start 1/2 marathon training come September!

I hope you all are as excited as I am about learning about and training for a 75 mile ride. It is a flat and easy course that will be focused on having fun more than finishing within a specific time.

Since I signed up through the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, I was able to set up a fundraising page. The team I joined has a goal to raise $25,000 for the cause which I think is so awesome! This is my site in case you want to track my progress!

I know this is going to be an interesting and challenging summer. I have plans to purchase a new helmet and have my bike tuned up this weekend. I will also be doing some reading and chatting with experienced riders. I am so excited to start training for this ride! The month of September will be extra busy because I will be starting my first month of 1/2 marathon training as well.

Any tips or suggestions on how to be healthy and smart throughout this journey are greatly appreciated!

Ta-Ta!

8 responses

  1. 1) you HAVE to sign up for the Philly 1/2 in November…we can all have a party there.

    and 2)I think you will love bike training! Plus, the cross training really does wonders for running!

  2. How fun! I’ve been seeing long cycling events on so many blogs lately that it’s given me the itch to bike…but I want to wait a little longer before I jump on it to make sure it’s not just a flash-in-the-pan type obsession (which I have often). Good luck in your training!!

    • Thanks! Yea I’ve had a bike for so long and enjoy riding it, I’ve just never committed to anything like a race or ride before so this should be a fun challenge!

  3. Pingback: It’s Pedal Time « The Bright Side