It’s Pedal Time

Standard

Morning!

I hope everyone had a good Friday night. I just laid low; ran some errands and did laundry while watching TV. I really love those rare nights when I have time to myself and NO PLANS. I was even able to finish the book I started reading in NC last week: Water for Elephants. If you haven’t heard of/read it yet you should. The book is being made into a movie as we speak and I believe Robert Pattison and Reese Witherspoon are the stars!

I am still so excited about the news I shared yesterday about the ride I am doing in September. To kick off my training I decided to head out on a ride this morning. I am not officially beginning a set training plan for a few more weeks but until then I want to make sure I am riding often and getting my body prepared for longer distances; especially in the heat!

I headed out this morning for a breezy 12 mile ride which took me about 1:07:21 which included a few stops for water and to take pictures. I am DEFINITELY a newbie to riding but am excited to get better! It was tough seeing so many people whiz by on their road bikes decked out in professional cycling gear. I had to remind myself that everything takes work and I too will be whizzing down the road this summer.

I definitely went at a good time today because the sun was bright and shining but it wasn’t swelteringly hot yet. I had a piece of toast with almond butter before I left and made a smoothie once I got home. Into my smoothie went:

  • Almond milk
  • Spinach
  • Frozen Cherries
  • Chocolate Whey Protein Powder
  • Ice

It hit the spot! Now I must get myself ready and packed for the rest of the weekend. I am heading to a friends party this afternoon then down the shore for the rest of the weekend. Have a good afternoon and enjoy this beautiful weather!

Ta-Ta!

2 responses

  1. Glad you had a lovely first training ride! You will be whizzing by people in no time…and let me tell you, there is nothing more satisfying than whizzing by someone all decked out in their professional gear. Cause you so don’t need that to ride fast!

    • Agreed! I was already beginning to get annoyed by the cyclists who would yell “on your left!” over and over and over until they had ACTUALLY passed me on my left! Isn’t once or twice sufficient?! “:)