Good Day Sunshine!

Standard

I need to laugh, and when the sun is out
I’ve got something I can laugh about
I feel good, in a special way
I’m in love and it’s a sunny day

-The Beatles

Hey there!

I am loving all this sun. Even though it’s in the 90’s and super humid, I’ll take it over a cold rainy day anytime! I got to try a new bar recently tried that I want to tell you about; but first, some eats.

This morning I woke up SO tired. I am not sure if it is allergies, lack of an exercise schedule or I am getting sick but I can’t shake off the sleepiness and fog that usually goes away as soon as I wake up. I’m hoping some healthy eats and exercise this week will kick whatever this is out the  door.

I was craving a Cereal Bowl all morning so I decided to skip the normal morning smoothie. This Cereal Bowl hit the spot!

In the mix was:

  • 1 cup of Almond Milk
  • 3/4 cup of Joe’s O’s (Trader Joe’s Cheerios!)
  • 1 nanner
  • ground flax
  • WF Berry Perserves
  • WF Peanut Butter
  • 1/3 cup of frozen mixed berries

This Cereal Bowl kind of tasted like a deconstructed PB&J with a nanner and glass of milk! 🙂

Since I had a very filling breakfast and a late snack I wasn’t super hungry for lunch and didn’t have any idea what to make  – but then just as I was leaving the office I got some lunchtime inspiration via email from Snack Girl!

Avocado on Toast! (with tomato and goat cheese)

Super easy, satisfying and tasty! I think that lunch will keep me going way into the afternoon. I’ve got a Pineapple Chobani with me for a snack though.

So several weeks ago the folks over at Kardea Nutrition contacted me asking if I would like to try their nutrition bars. I did a little looking around on their website before agreeing. I was intrigued by the flavors offered and I love bars so I wanted to give them a try!

Kardea

Here are a few stats from their site: (contained in one nutrition bar)

  • Plant Sterols-1 gram
  • Total Fiber-7 grams with 5 grams Soluble Fiber
  • Heart Healthy Soluble Fiber-3grams
  • Protein-7 grams with 3.5 grams Soy Protein
  • Vegetarian-Friendly (Chai Spice & Banana Walnut Are Vegan)
  • Kosher Certified
  • Only 150 Calories/Bar
  • No Trans Fats
  • Lower Glycemic Formulation

Kardea offers four flavors which include Chai Spice, Banana Walnut, Cranberry Almond and Lemon Ginger. Here is what I thought:

Chai Spice – This tasted just like Chai! It had great flavors too it and didn’t taste artificial at all. I really liked this one.

Banana Nut – YUM. I love banana nut anything and this bar was pretty spot on with it’s flavors. I really liked the little “crunchies” throughout the bar too.

Cherry Almond – do you ever have a moment when you are eating something that tastes like the smell of something else? Maybe I am alone on this one, but it has happened before and this particular bar brought that saying right back into my mind. This bar tasted like the smell of the cherry almond hand lotion you find in bathrooms. Weird I know. This bar didnt taste BAD, I was just weirded out because all I could picture was myself licking a palm full of hand lotion. Ew.

Lemon Ginger- This was a light a refreshing flavor. The lemon flavor wasn’t as fresh as I would have liked it but it was still good. I probably wouldn’t buy this flavor over Chai Spice and Banana Nut if they were offered in stores.

Overall I really enjoyed trying these bars. I like how each one was only 150 calories, making them less calorie dense than other bars I like. Although they were small in size, they were chewy which is something I really like as well.

I wasn’t a huge fan of how many ingredients there were in each tiny bar. That is one thing I love about LaraBars. Their ingredient list is very simple and straight forward. Although I probably would consider purchasing these in the future, it would be in a situation where LaraBars weren’t available. 🙂

Tonight I have a fun trip to Whole Foods planned! I’m grabbing dinner with a couple friends then going food shopping with one of them to help them pick out fun, healthy foods she can use to whip up meals for her and her fiancé! I’m so pumped to do this!

Ta-Ta!

Comments are closed.