Where are you Kombucha?!

Standard

I am really looking forward to the weekend. I have a few fun things going on but overall, just a weekend of relaxing 🙂 Last night I was a laaazy girl and made dinner (sweet potato with zucchini and mushrooms sautĂ©ed in tomato sauce) and watched some DVR’d shows. For dessert I made banana soft serve with peanut butter and it seriously hit the spot! Sorry I didn’t snap any pictures; when you live in a four story house, it gets old going up and down 3 flights of stairs all the time!

This morning I had the usual Cherry Chocolate Bomb Shake.

(old picture because I made mine today as I was running out the door!)

So how many of you have heard of/drink Kombucha tea? (If you don’t know what it is, click here to read more about it!)

If you’ve been reading “The Bright Side” for awhile you know that I used to do “Kombucha Friday” where I would try and review a new flavor of the fermented tea. I stopped the normal Friday reviews because I had tried most of the flavors found at my local Whole Foods and have been drinking the flavors I like best as much as my wallet will allow me ($$$).

So it was a complete surprise when this article came out last week about Whole Foods voluntarily pulling Kombucha Tea from all of their stores! The reason was due to concerns over slightly elevated alcohol levels.  I was very disappointed and sad, I love Kombucha! Being that this tea is fermented, there is a very small amount of naturally occurring alcohol in each tea.

I want you all to weigh in – do you drink Kombucha? If so what do you like/dislike about it? How do you feel about WF’s pulling them from their shelves?


I had a hard time deciding what to make for lunch today because I am on the tail end of my food shopping trip, and that was almost two weeks ago. I go every two weeks with a small trip here and there if I need produce or something for a recipe. Overall this system works GREAT for me, except for this coming week. Fourth of July weekend is next weekend and because of that I don’t want to do my normal food shop this Sunday because I will be gone for 3.5 days next weekend. So basically what I need to do is sit down and plan out my meals for the next week and take a smaller trip to get stuff I need. I know this isn’t THAT hard of a thing to do, but I am usually on autopilot every time I go to the store because I’ve fallen into a groove (a GOOD one) of getting lots of healthy produce, grains, dairy and some treats here and there.

Anyways, here is what I came up with for lunch:

PB&J and steamed broccoli! This is obviously a random pairing but I’m goin’ with what I got!

I don’t know about you all, but I LOVE jam on my PB&J. I would rather have a little nut butter and a LOT of jam. Jam that oozes out of the bread, as you can see above!  Especially Whole Foods Mixed Berry Jam. It might be one of my favorite things. Ever. I had a glass of organic strawberry lemonade on  the side. All together:

Time to head back into work! See ya this weekend!

Ta-Ta!

3 responses

  1. Hahaha did you hear Linsay Lohan blamed that for her scram braclet going off? What a looney tunes.

  2. Oh no, I am so sad! I hadn’t heard about this. I wish I had stocked up a bit- are they already all off the shelves? Never to return? What’s a girl to do? 😩