A Rainbow of Colors

Standard

One of my favorite things about summer is fresh produce. There is nothing that makes me smile more than coming home and seeing a rainbow of colors in the fridge.

Yesterday I was at B’s for the afternoon watching the World Cup game. We had an impromptu cook out and I immediately said I would make fruit salad! I love a good fruit salad; so crisp and refreshing!

I started with a giant watermelon – the perfect base to any fruit salad.

From there I chopped up/added grapes, peaches, pears, blueberries and mango. I didn’t have any on hand, but would have loved strawberries as well.

The key to making a good fruit salad, especially a big one, is to layer all of the different fruits so that you don’t have to struggle stirring a big bowl of fruit and everyone gets to try some of everything.

The fruit salad was a hit along with THIS:

B’s first “Harvest” of the summer! That GIANT squash was grown about 20 feet from where I am sitting. It doesn’t get more local than that! We grilled that zucchini squash on the grill and I had a tasty veggie sandwich for lunch!

It was a great day for eating fresh and local :).

I am super excited because in just a little bit B and I are heading to Philly to the Farmer’s Market!! I’ll be back with a recap!

Comments are closed.