Zucchinis and Running

Standard

My night was all about the above two things. Before I tell you about the zucchini filled dinner I had I want to tell you about the exciting organization I have joined.

I had heard about Back On My Feet, or BOMF, a little over two years ago when they were featured on CNN.com. Growing up and all through college I was always involved in some sort of volunteer/charity activity and have been wanting to get back into it for a couple years now. I figured this would be the perfect organization to become involved with! If you aren’t familiar with Back On My Feet, they are “a nonprofit organization that promotes the self-sufficiency of homeless populations by engaging them in running as a means to build confidence, strength and self-esteem.”

Last night was my orientation and it was very informative and really helped solidify my decision to wake up at 5 am 1-3 days a week to run with others. I am so excited to join in the morning runs.

The part that I love about this whole thing (other than I am helping others obviously) is that it gives me something to look forward to and be held accountable for. I am not someone who jumps out of bed at 5am every day ready to tackle a workout, so I am hoping this is something that will lead me down that path 🙂 .

Now onto the eats. After my meeting in the city I had to run to Verizon because my phone just went dead for no reason-turns out I had a “swelling battery” which usually comes from extreme temperature changes. Doesn’t make sense because my phone was in the AC all day, but whatever–I got a new battery and am good to go.

By the time I got finished up with that I was starving! I went to B’s place for dinner-he had just picked a a bunch of zucchinis and tomato from his garden and was putting them on the grill. I definitely wasn’t going to pass that up!

We decided to make grilled zucchini, tomato and cheese sandwiches with roasted red pepper and a black bean and salsa “salad” on the side.

This was such a fresh and delicious dish! My mouth was practically watering the whole time the food was on the grill. The zucchini was perfectly tender and the chilled black beans and salsa were the perfect combo. I also nibbled on some home grown cucumber and store bought corn on the cob. Dessert was fresh mango 🙂 My kind of meal!

And who says you can’t have an awesome meal of just vegetables?!

I am really looking forward to tonight; my childhood friend Kate is coming over and we are going to make pizza, drink some wine and catch up! She lives in Chicago now so I don’t get to see her too often. Catch ya later!

Ta-Ta!

2 responses