Humility

Standard

When I was growing up I always felt like I had to be the best at everything I did and if I wasn’t the best, I just wanted to quit. I would get discouraged by those running faster than me or scoring more goals in lacrosse or dancing better at the recital.

It took me awhile, and I am still learning, but  I’ve realized that it doesn’t matter if I am faster or stronger or better at something than everyone else. What matter is that I am doing MY best, and this morning was a perfect example…

I got up at 5am to run with Back on My Feet. This morning we were deciding how far we all wanted to run and in my head I was thinking two, maybe three miles. Then I heard a couple people say they were going to do four and I said “ME TOO”! I can totally do 4 miles!!

Well my friends, I have not run 4 miles since Broad Street. Yep that’s right. I have actually not run more than 3 miles in over 2.5 months. But I went anyways and about 2 miles in, at a pace I was slightly uncomfortable with I decided I had to take a walk break or my lungs would explode. I was kind of embarrassed but knew that I would rather slow down than have someone scraping me off the pavement. Thanks for a healthy dose of reality legs and lungs.

I was walking for a minute or so, watching the group get farther away when one of them ran back to me and says “come on-we have a rule here that no one runs alone”. And that was that. For the next two miles we ran and walked when needed and I made it through those 4 miles in almost exactly 44 minutes. When we made it back to everyone else, we were greeted with big smiles.

I realized as I was driving home after my run that everyone is running their own metaphorical race in life. Some of us are literally running races and others, like those in the BOMF program are being helped in their race of life by the program which coincidentally, has them running races 🙂 .

I know I need to build my running fitness back up but I am not going to get discouraged about it. I have done it before and know I can do it again. It isn’t going to happen overnight but it will happen.

At BOMF it isn’t how fast or far you can go, but the mere fact that you’re GOING. I know there will be times in my life that will require hard work but I am happy knowing that every Wednesday morning when I am greeted with hugs and hello’s I don’t have to worry about being the best. Being me is good enough.

2 responses

  1. I’m going to see you in about an hour (!) but just wanted to say this was such a nice post. Congrats on your run! Can’t wait for dinner tonight 🙂