An UN-Conventional Way to Eat Oats!

Standard

What’s a girl to do when she’s craving oats but there’s NO WAY she’s turning on the stove in this heat?!

Make Un-Overnight Oats in a Jar! Now I am sure many of you know of or have tried OIAJ or Overnight Oats, but for those of you who have not, let me tell you-you’re missing out! It is super easy to make these oats and while some people will actually make the oats the night before, I took a cue from Caitlin and make them the morning of, on my way out the door  to work! I love how the Oats look in the jar, all mixed up. So here is what went into my mix yesterday:

  • 1/4 whole grain oats
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • soymilk – add until the oats are the consistency you like
  • ground flax and ground chia sprinkled in
  • 1/2 of a pink lady apple, cubed
  • 1 Tbs of WF Mixed Berry Jam
  • blob of almond butter

That’s it! Just stir it all up and you have a filling, delicious and portable breakfast!

After work yesterday I went for a run outside. I filled up my Camelbak with water and ice and headed out. Let me just say, I am SO GLAD I got my Camelbak-I only ran a little over 3.5 miles but having icy cold water was what kept me going in the intense humidity. Definitely a purchase I would recommend to other runners, bikers, hikers, etc.!

After my run I grabbed a quick shower because I had an impromptu dinner date with my mom at:

The Melting Pot! I was really craving chocolate yesterday afternoon and suggested we go. My mom actually wanted to meet to chat about revamping her website for her handmade bags!

My mom is really creative and quite handy on the sewing machine-(ie: made our Halloween costumes every year) and now sells handmade purses, totes and diaper bags. Her bags are so awesome, I have quite a few myself. You can check out her current website here.

We chatted about a bunch of different stuff and ways I can help her out! We ended up getting cheese fondue, salads and chocolate fondue. It was definitely an indulgent meal, but worth it! It also didn’t hurt that I had just run before I went :).

Gotta head back to work-I’ll be hitting the trail tonight on my bike!!

Ta-Ta!

3 responses