Miss Cranky Pants

Standard

I had grand plans of telling you all about my weekend filled with friends, puppies and awesome Italian food. OK I actually still plan on telling you but not right now. I had to be up at 4am today so that I could make it to Philly by 5:30 for a Back On My Feet Run. BOMF welcomed their 9th Philly team today and it’s an all women’s team! It was awesome getting to be a part of it. You can check out the full story here.

But that’s not what this post is all about. I am rightfully naming myself Miss Cranky Pants today.  I think the 4am wake up on just 6 hours of sleep has done me in. I was a whiny complainer once 5pm rolled around. I cancelled my plans to go to boot camp because aside from physical and mental exhaustion, I can’t imagine anyone wanting to be around me right now. 🙂

So what’s a Miss Cranky pants to do, all alone with no plans on a Monday night?? Cook of course! I swear, cooking is therapy for me. Now don’t get super excited, for dinner I had roasted sweet potato rounds with BBQ and ketchup.

Nothing glamorous, but it’s what I wanted. It’s what came AFTER that put a smile on my face!

Last week I tweeted out for help on how to use the plethora of tomatoes from my garden that were slowly taking over my fridge. Alexandra from Running Just as Fast as I Can came to the rescue with a super simple idea – roast  tomatoes in the oven with olive oil, onion and garlic, then blend! I almost cried with happiness over how EASY that sounded.

So I figured that the ONLY way to pull myself out of an incredibly bad mood was to get to work.

Super Simple Tomato Sauce

  • 3 large tomatoes (beefsteak?? They came from the garden)
  • 2+ Tbs Olive oil
  • minced garlic (to your liking)
  • salt, pepper and dried, minced onion

Combine all ingredients into a baking dish, making sure the tomatoes are coated on all sides.

Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes, or until tomato skins separate from the tomato. You will notice that the juice from the tomatoes creates a nice “puddle” at the bottom of the baking dish.

Place tomatoes into blender and blend until smooth.

Pour into storage container. I opted to keep mine accessible for this week but Alexandra did comment that it will freeze well.

I ended up having 1/4 of a roasted tomato as part of my random dinner and wow was it good! I am super excited to incorporate my sauce for dinner one night this week. I’ll be sure to let you know how it turns out!

Thanks again to Alexandra for the great idea/inspiration.

And on that note, I think I will console myself with a frozen fruit bar and an 8pm bedtime. 🙂

Ta-Ta!

4 responses

  1. OMG! I am SO doing this. I made sauce from a TON of tomatoes last year and vowed I would never do it again becuase I was so tired of standing and blanching and shocking and deseeding. This is AWESOME!