Cooking Club Part Duex

Standard

It’s good to be back! OK so I didn’t actually go anywhere, just took a breather from blogging-I’m back now and ready to get up to speed. I went to the gym after work–ran 2.8 miles and biked 4.5 miles. I haven’t actually been inside my gym in over a month — I’d much rather be outside!! I just grabbed a quick shower and am sipping on this beauty while I write:

Fleur De Lehigh – Philadelphia Brewing Company. I really like PBC’s different beers. This one in particular is gingery with lots of citrus flavor; perfect for summer! OK so lets rewind a bit, shall we?

Last Thursday was the second meeting of the cooking club (Girls Bite Out!)  my friends and I started and our theme this month was Phillies Tailgate. This month I was in charge of dessert, while Meghan made the main dish and Lauren took care of the side dish.

Since we went with a Phillies theme we served both mushroom and chicken cheesesteaks, homemade crab fries with cheese sauce and with a little inspiration from Sabrina, Philly Soft Pretzel Chocolate Bread Pudding.

Meghan did a phenom job on the cheesesteaks-I LOVE mushrooms and along with some peppers and cheese, this cheese”steak” tasted like the real thing!

In case you started scratching your head when you read Crab Fries, let me explain. If you are from the Philadelphia area you definitely know what I am talking about. In case you aren’t, crab fries are something that are sold at Phillies baseball games. They are fries covered in Old Bay seasoning, served with a thick, cheesy sauce.

(source)

Our fries didn’t look quite like the ones above but tasted just as good! And they were baked-SCORE!

This was a VERY rich a decadent cheese sauce–something that would probably cause a heart attack if eaten daily 🙂 .

Last but not least, dessert! Back in April when I saw this post on Sabrina aka Rhodey Girl’s site I KNEW I had to make it. I was waiting for the perfect time and last week was it! You can check out the full recipe on Sabrina’s blog but trust me – you need to make this.

To go along with our awesome meal I bought a case of PBO variety pack — my favorite was their Kenzinger flavor.

So there you have it! Another successful GBO Cooking Club! We already have a date set and theme planned. Look out next month to see what we’re up to!

Gotta run-going out for sushi to celebrate my roommates birthday! Happy Birthday Steph!!

7 responses

  1. I LOVE crab fries so much! They are an absolute must have when going to Phillies games or Chickies in Petes! I actually live right outside of Philly. I just started my blog and it’s great to see another local Philly girl!

  2. YUM! Looks so good. I am glad you reminded me about the Soft Pretzel Bread Pudding. I added it to my list of to-do’s. 🙂

  3. I am not a fan of old bay, yet I love crab fries!! They are sooo salty though.. I eat 5 and feel like I need to drink a gallon of water. I bet the homemade ones are more my style!

  4. Wow! Looks awesomeeee with extra cheesssseeee!!!!

    So, I made beef tacos for Ryan and I tonight and decided against including red meat in my diet anymore. They were yucky looking from start to finish and reminded me of your healthy blogs and the book Skinny Bitch simultaneously.

    Keep the posts coming!