You Got This

Standard

Those three words are what I whisper during the last few miles of a 35 mile ride that feels like it will never end, or while running up a big hill at 6am. It helps motivate me and basically reassures me that no matter what I can make it through.

Lately though I feel like I’ve been using my little motto just in everyday life; ie- I’ve been feeling a little overwhelmed with things I’ve got going on and things I’ve willingly committed to.

I never want writing to feel like a chore (as it sometimes did at 2am the morning a 10 page paper was due in college) so when things got stressful a few weeks ago, in other areas of my life, I stopped. I was feeling pressured to squeeze in time for writing and that made it not fun.

I’ve been busy and having fun and am still around! In fact I plan to meet up with some other lovely bloggers this weekend for some Half Marathon and Birthday fun!

In other news, my big 75 mile ride is in 11 days!!! I can’t believe how much time I have spent on a bike the past few months. It will be worth it though and I can’t wait to share this experience with all those riding along side me.

Half Marathon training has begun–a bit slower than I had hoped but once my ride is completed I will be able to put full focus on training and getting excited for the Philly Half in November!!

So stick around, you aren’t getting rid of me just yet!

(ps: this is exactly where I will be on Sunday for the ING Rock and Roll 1/2 Marathon! Mile 5 – look for me!)

2 responses

  1. “And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” ~Sylvia Plath

    Please don’t ever stop writing. You have a beautiful passion for the written word that is self evident. I think you are a fantastic writer and I also think you would go crazy if you ever stopped.

    “A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.”-Richard Bach

    See what I did there? I sandwiched my pep talk with legitimate quotes. What can I say, I’m a pro.

  2. Well said, Steph. I know the feeling as I’m sure so many bloggers do. And it takes dicipline to listen to yourself and not write when you’re not ‘feelin’ it.

    I can’t wait for birthday fun! E-mail goes out today 🙂