Busy and Fun

Standard

So this past weekend was jam packed-just the way I like it. I am the type of person that thrives off of being busy. Yes, some may call me an over planner, but I love looking at my calendar and seeing a weekend full of fun things planned. I do best when I am running around from one activity to the next-perhaps that will come in handy down the road when I have kids!! 🙂

My Friday night was spent whipping up cheese fondue for all the lovely guests at the restaurant where I work. I didn’t get home until 1:30am which means I was working (between both of my jobs) for 17 hours! I am not really sure HOW I manage to do it, but I do! My 1:30am bedtime meant my 7am alarm was NOT a welcome sound. I drug myself out of bed to meet my sister for our final long ride before City to Shore next weekend.

It was a rough ride. There were quite a few hills and I was very tired so the 40 miles we rode felt more like 400 miles! But, we finished and I am hoping I have the stength to make it through next weekend!

I came home and crashed for a few hours before getting ready to head out and meet some blog friends for dinner in Northern Liberties. At the suggestion of Lauren a group of us met for dinner at Cantina Dos Segundos. We all had a great time chatting and I had what was probably one of my all time favorite salads for dinner! You can check out the praise it got on Sabrina’s blog (she obviously loved it too!).

(photo thanks to Ashley)

I honestly loved getting to talk with these girls; being in a smaller group makes the conversations more personal and they tend to flow better. I can’t wait for our next meet-up!

I was in bed by 10pm (on a Saturday!?!) because I had a 5am wake up for some 1/2 marathon volunteering! I worked with some other BOMFers providing hydration for all the runners! I believe there were 18,000+ runners–it was insane! I think we all had a good time though.


It was such a fun experience; even though it was a madhouse for about 2 hours it was totally worth it!

As soon as we were done cleaning up I ran to my car, changed clothes and headed out on my own run! I had 6 miles to do and I did just that! It wasn’t a fast run or anything but it was GOOD. I definitely felt strong and happy when I finished. At this point I was ready to drop but I still had one more thing to do-eat cupcakes!! 🙂

Lisa, Sabrina and I met at Brown Betty’s Dessert Boutique in Northern Liberties


(Thank you Sabrina for the photo!)

We all chose a cupcake and shared – the Sweet Potato cupcake with Spiced Buttercream Frosting was so good! It reminded me of fall — my favorite season. After an awesome couple hours spent chatting with Lisa and Sabrina I said my good-byes and went to B’s house for homemade fish tacos and couch dwelling :). Perfect way to end a great weekend!

I have a 5am wake-up for my BOMF run so this girl has got to get to bed. Catch ya later!

Ta-ta!

One response