MS City to Shore Ride 2010

Standard

Hey friends!

So remember when I said I was going to ride 75 miles on my bike? Well I did it! I realize this recap is about 3 weeks late but better late than never!

My morning started bright and early at 4am!! I only had about 4 hours of sleep the night before due to having to work my second job so I was a little worried that I would totally hit a wall at some point. My sister and I got dressed and ate the traditional toast with PB as well as a big iced coffee for me!

B was awesome and actually dropped us off at the start so we wouldn’t have to leave my car there. Poor guy-I woke him up at 5am on a Saturday!

We got down to the starting area with plenty of time to walk around and get a feel for everything. I was definitely still half asleep at this point!

After a team photo and last minute adjustments we were off. We started just a little before 7am and there was a cool breeze and everyone seemed in great spirits! It was kind of hard to imagine that we would be spending the entire morning and afternoon on a bike!

The race was really well organized with fully stocked rest stops every 10-15 miles (there were five total I believe). There was a group of five girls that all rode together throughout the day; myself, my sister Lindsey, Meghan, Tiffany and Diana!

The following are some pictures from the different rest stops. We rode anywhere from 13-17mph and took our time at all the rest stops and had fun!

(20 miles down, 55 to go!)

(Meghan had a small accident but was a total champ)

(Super excited to be just about halfway done!)

(Diana and Tiffany fueling up)

(less than 20 miles to go! SUPER hot at this point)

(Mile 63! Last rest stop before the finish in Ocean City!!)

(Holy crap we did it!)

(All smiles with Meghan’s Uncle Dan!)

Our actual time spent riding was 6 hours and 17 minutes but from start to finish it took us close to 9 hours. A big thank you to my family and B and his family for coming to support us! It was so awesome seeing them all right as we crossed the finish line! My sister and I were definitely excited to show off our medals!!

We spent the night in Avalon and had B’s family over for dinner to celebrate our big finish! We had a great time although by 10pm I was falling asleep on the couch!

I will definitely be signing up for the MS City to Shore ride in 2011. If you live in the PA/NJ area you should give it a shot!

Time to get some stuff done on this gross rainy evening.

Ta-Ta!

3 responses

  1. Glad you enjoyed the ride! I had so much fun the two years that I did it. Maybe I’ll just have to buy another bike so I can start doing it again 😉 Did you see the little old lady? She rides EVERY year in her stocking and dress shoes- so cute!

    • OMG Yes!!! She is like a legend! It was HOT at certain points and she was just chugging along in her tights, heels and long dress!!