Chicken Anyone?

Standard

Well hello there! Happy Friday kids!

We got some wicked storms last night but it ended up giving us a pretty nice Friday. I’m heading into town soon with Meghan for some drinks and food at a friends house. I hear wine spritzers are on the agenda; definitely not complaining!

Earlier this week I was really missing the bf (only 11 more days!!!! But who’s counting??? 🙂 ) and wanted to do something to make myself feel better. No I didn’t eat a pint of Ben and Jerrys, but I DID cook!

I love hearing about Nicaragua and what’s going on down there. Brad and I have something of a system in order to talk on the phone. I use skype  to call his Nica cell phone but because he doesn’t always get service he has to call me and hang up, which lets me know he is in an area with service. Fun huh? ANYways, one of the things Brad has talked about pretty often is how they eat a LOT of chicken, beans and rice. So I decided to recreate a meal he typically eats; Beer in the Butt Chicken, beans and rice!

OK, I know probably everyone has heard of or made BITB Chicken but this was a first for me. First time ever handling a whole chicken too. I hit up TJ’s for the chicken. Added 1/2 can of beer, some olive oil spray and seasoning and that’s it! While the chicken was on the grill I made up some brown rice, kidney and black beans and sliced tomato all seasoned like the chicken (I think it was Caribbean Seasoning).

Ok so this picture is NOT of chicken but I just had to show off my green thumb. I LOVE porchulacas and planted these about two months ago and boy have they grown! Ok back to chicken.

It. was. AWESOME. So flavorful and delicious. My Dad, I mean my ROOMMATE thought it was delicious as well :).

Looking forward to a relaxing weekend! Yoga tomorrow AM then over to the WC Growers Market! Have a great weekend everyone!

ta-ta!

Comments are closed.