Soup and Bombs

Standard

So guess who didn’t get up this morning to run? ME!!! But I’m fine with it. I definitely feel more rested, but still feel run down like I might have a cold. I really can’t wait for warm weather this weekend. I think my body immediately got used to the warm weather we had recently and then this rain and cold came and just knocked me on my butt.

Since I didn’t go to the gym last night I decided to make some soup! Soup and a grilled cheese sounded like the perfect rainy day dinner. I started with Bob’s Red Mill Vegi Soup mix. In the mix was green split peas, yellow split peas, barley, lentils and vegetable pasta.

I added a handful of short grain brown rice and a can of diced tomatoes. All you have to do is mix that in with water (or in my case, veggie broth), simmer for an hour and you’re done!

My grilled cheese was pretty fantastic as well. I took some crusty bread from the local bakery and assembled my sammy with horseradish cheddar, tomato and mushrooms. That, with my soup and a side of roasted brussels just made everything seem OK in the world. 🙂

That awesome dinner, matched with 8+ hours of sleep put me back on track to feeling like a normal person!

This morning I made my version of a Cherry Chocolate Bomb Shake that I read about on Ryan’s blog. In my shake went:

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 tsp of ground Chia seeds
  • 1 scoop of Amazing Grass Chocolate
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1 tbs unsweetened dark chocolate powder
  • 1 cup of frozen cherries
  • handful of ice

It was a great shake although I wish mine had a more chocolaty flavor. The cherries were fantastic!

Cherries and berries are probably on the top of my list of favorite fruits. Raspberries are #1 hands down though. When I was little, my grandma used to have raspberry bushes in her yard and we would eat the berries right off the bushes!

In other news, take a look at what I received today! Miss Kelly from My Verbal Vomit has passed along the Sunshine Award. Definitely something nice to have during this gloomy week. Thanks so much!

I am going to pass along this award to someone who could use a little sunshine in her day!

Lauren at Eat, Drink and Be Hopeful

Lauren recently had surgery on her ankle. She sustained an injury from running and hasn’t been able to run for awhile now. She goes back to the doctor today to see how everything went. Everyone should head over to her blog and wish her luck!

On that note I am outta here – I’ve got work all day and night (Melting Pot tonight!) so look out for me again tomorrow!

ta-ta!

7 responses

  1. I like the look of the cherry chocolate bomb shake! I’m definitely with you on loving berries and cherries.

  2. Your grilled cheese and soup combo looks fantastic! That’s always a go-to meal for me when I need something nourishing for dinner.

    By the way… I love the theme of your blog… it’s always good to focus on life’s warm fuzzies.

    Love that you want to emphasize those. Have a good one!

  3. I just found your blog from Kelly over at my verbal vomit & I am so happy I did! & I’m also so happy that you use your S Anthropologie cup for your soup…SO smart!! 🙂 I have a K one!